Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Good News?

Ok, I'm getting married next March. It's no mystry, everyone knew even before I did. The date's been set as March something since last March (recently we set the actual date as the 24).

The only deff brides maids my fincee has are our two sisters (one her's one mine)

Today I found out that my sister has just gotten pregnat with her second child. We knew that her and her husband would be trying in the near future since the beginning of the summer.

The thing is her timing puts her due right around the wedding so she wants us to move the wedding back a month.

What do ya'll think?

Personly My Fincee and I are a little annoyed. Like I said, we've been planing a March wedding since March. I think my sister could of put off "baby making" a few more months. It would of been different if they had problems having children like some couples I know (http://housewifeinflipflops.blogspot.com/) but the last child they had was due to her switching birth control pills (i.e. fertility's not a problem in my family!)

Sunday, July 09, 2006

Something that bothers me

Ok, first rule. Don't get on me for spelling/grammer. I'm an accountant, not an editor. If you have a problem with it frell off.

One of the "left click mouse buttons" on my laptop broke yesterday. Of course it's the one that I use when I'm not using my plug-in mouse. In-order to fix it I have to replace the entire palm rest. Of course DELL dosen't sell replacement parts directly, and of course my warenty ran out over a year ago. This isn't what this post is about but it's just a constant annoyance at the moment.

What's been bothering me is the total lack of gentalman behavior by the modern man. I notice this most often while I'm going in/going out of church. Often times I'm left stranded holding the door open while an ocean of humanity walks past waiting for another non-elderly man to grab the door. Usally what I see is a mother holding one small child while herding one or more children through the door while her husband's too buisy talking to his buddy about god-knows-what to even notice the there was a door there.

The one instance that really peeved me was this one Sunday morning going in for mass I grabbed the door for my family (either my brother or I will hold the door for my parents), I kept holding it for an enderly couple. After them was a young family (young couple with a newborn). I entered and held the door the guy to grab 'cuz he was trotting up ahead of his wife to, what I thought, grab the door for his wife holding thier baby. Instead what he did was manuver through the closing door. I had to dive to grab the door before it slammed on the baby in it mother's arms!

I don't know. My fincee would probably tell me not let this bother me, that I'm one of the last Southern Gentalmen and that I shouldn't compare others to my standards. I can't help but feel that we've lost something as a culture when it's an oddity for a man to hold a door for a woman or a senior.